OWEN #40

14th May 2019 – New Orleans 
 
He didn’t know if he had or not, but Owen certainly didn’t feel like he had slept. Every single time he had closed his eyes, his Uncle’s Finn’s face had been there, half of it shot away, the other half covered in blood. Even now, he couldn’t really believe that this had happened to him, and like the old cliché went, he’d wake up and it would turn out to be nothing more than an awful dream. It wasn’t a dream though, Owen was acutely aware of that, the constant throbbing in his head a reminder of what his own flesh and blood had put him through. Owen sits up, and throws his legs out of the bed, holding his hand in his hands, waking Jaina as he does.
 
Jaina: Babe?
 
Owen rubs the back of his neck, still aching from the night before. He then runs his finger along the wound on his forehead, when the shotgun butt had impacted.
 
Jaina pulls herself close, putting her arms around his torso
 
Jaina: Did you manage to get any sleep?
 
Owen: A little, sorry if I kept you awake.
 
Jaina: It’s fine… how you feeling?
 
She immediately admonishes herself.
 
Jaina: Sorry, ignore that… stupid question.
 
Owen turns and gives her a half smile. It was a stupid question, because in truth he felt like shit, but he was still glad that she asked.
 
Owen: It’s OK babe, I get it… difficult to know what to say in situations like this right?
 
Situations where you’d seen your Uncle blow his brains out the night before.
 
Owen: I’ll be ok Jay, just need to try and get this damn image out my head.
 
Jaina: I understand.
 
Of course he’d lied, it was a lot more than the image. It was the sounds, the shotgun going off and the shattering of bone. It was the disbelief, that his Uncle would do this to him, his Father’s brother. It was the anger that he wasn’t around anymore for him to rant at, or take it out on. And it was the mourning, because he’d lost an Uncle.
 
Jaina: I’ll go fix us some breakfast. You get in the shower.
 
Owen: I’m not hungry babe.
 
Jaina: No, you’re probably not, but you need to eat, or you’ll get ill.
 
Owen concedes.
 
Owen: OK, maybe a little bit.
 
Jaina: Good… I’ll make those eggs you like, just don’t tell your Mom right? You know how Vegan she is.
 
Usually Owen would have laughed, but right now laughter didn’t seem right. A man had died, had taken his life for no more reason than to make Owen suffer. Owen just couldn’t understand that, the fact that he could hate him so much that he would sacrifice everything. He doesn’t even notice Jaina leave the room, but he certainly notices the tightness in his chest as the anxiety caused by the situation starts to build. 
 
Owen: Shower…
 
He almost has to force himself to stand up, and make his way over to the door. He knew this was going to be a rough day… one that he could do without.
 
FIFTEEN MINUTES LATER
 
The shower had helped, or at least it had whilst he was in there. There had been something soothing about the water that at least had gone some to making him forget, though it was never far from the forefront of his mind. Walking downstairs and into the kitchen, the smell of eggs hits him and only then does he realize that he actually IS hungry. Jaina motions towards the table, where Amy is already sat, eating some toast with a glass of apple juice in front of her. Amy pulls out a chair for him next to her, and he sits down, Amy immediately pouring him a glass.
 
Amy: Good shower?
 
Owen: Yes, thank you. And thank you for letting me stay last night.
 
Amy: Wouldn’t have had it any other way Owen… neither would Jay.
 
Jaina turns away from her cooking and smiles at him. He tries to repay with a smile of his own, but only manages to turn up one side of his mouth.
 
Amy: I really am sorry Owen… I know we didn’t get much chance to talk last night but I am.
 
Owen: Thanks.
 
Amy: I hate that you had to see something like that…
 
Owen reaches for the cereal and pours some into a bowl, before then doing the same with some milk.
 
Amy: I’m afraid the police are going to be around to ask you some questions soon… Shaun is on his way, but I’m more than willing to sit in with you if you want?
 
Owen: I’ll be ok.
 
Amy nods.
 
Amy: Well, the offers there… what did happen Owen?
 
Jaina turns, and widens her eyes at her Mom, not believing she’d asked the question.

Amy: I’m not asking to be nosy or rude… I just know the police are going to ask you the same thing, and I thought it might help if you went through it once first. 

Jaina’s look fades, understanding her mom was trying to help. To his credit, Owen doesn’t shirk the question, he was going to have to answer it anyway. His spoon remains in the bowl, his cereal untouched.
 
Owen: He didn’t want to go back inside Amy… but he wanted me to suffer, just like he had when Dad and Grandad left him in prison. He wanted me to live with this Amy, he never had an intention of using the shotgun on me… he wanted me to feel exactly how I’m feeling right now. My own Uncle hated me that much…
 
Jaina has put the eggs on a plate, and brings them over, placing them in front of Owen.
 
Amy: So he killed himself? 
 
Owen nods, Amy had assumed there was some kind of struggle, the blood all over Owen had given her that impression.
 
Owen: He wanted me to live with the pain… this pain.
 
Jaina squeezes his shoulder, and then shakes her head at her Mom, that motion asking her to stop with the questioning. Amy leans back, and nods at her daughter as a knock is heard at the door. 
 
Jaina: I’ll get it.
 
Jaina gets to her feet, and walks over to the front door. She opens it and smiles.
 
Jaina: Come in.
 
Shaun Cruze steps into the room, Owen immediately seeing him and rising to his feet, running over and straight into a hug from one of the people he needed most right now.
 
Shaun: Sorry I couldn’t be here sooner kiddo. 
 
Owen looks up at him
 
Owen: You’re here now.
 
And they stay that way for a while, Owen totally forgetting about his breakfast, not that Jaina cared. She was glad Owen had Shaun, because he was going to need him. In fact, he was going to need everyone who cared about him in the coming months. She’d seen many people lose themselves and who they are of the back of far less that this, and even now, just the day after, she sensed a change in who he now was. Any innocence that Owen had, had been lost last night, another thing that Finn had taken away. In that moment Jaina promises herself that she would keep him together no matter what, and make sure she didn’t lose the man she loved, and as far as she was concerned always would.

18th May 2019 – Los Angeles

Having spoken to the police, they were happy that there was no further questions, and Owen’s story corroborated the evidence in the room. Owen had seen enough CSI on television to know that blood splatter would have given them all the answers that they needed, and any doubt would have been extinguished when they didn’t find a single one of his fingerprints on the shotgun. Shaun had spoken with someone and they had confirmed that the case on Finn Cruze would eventually be closed, and that Owen could get on with his life.

That being easier said than done.

Thanks to Taylor, Broderick had done a good job of making sure the story hadn’t gotten out, but that hadn’t stopped the rumor mill building, especially on Breakdown when he hadn’t appeared for his match with Alistaire Allocco.

Kloe had been out of the country, so Shaun had taken Owen back to Los Angeles on the 16th of May, and he had stayed with them for a while. But with Shaun closing down shooting on the film, and Angyalka going to her Parents for a holiday, Owen was now with Taylor, who to be fair had been round at Shaun’s ever since they had arrived. With everything going wrong in his life right now, he was actually glad of the fact Taylor had turned a new leaf, and had a totally different attitude to before. It was like he’d got his step mum back, and he couldn’t have been happier.

Shaun: OK kid, so you’re golden yeah? Rest up, recuperate and I’ll see you in a few days?

Owen: Yeah, I’m alright Shaun honestly. Go… finish up your film.

He was saying he was alright, but Shaun had heard Owen’s screams, his night terror piercing through the house. He was certainly putting a brave face on it, but he wasn’t fooling anyone, especially Taylor.

Shaun: A few days, and I’ll be back. Maybe get away for a few days, just you and me.

Owen: Maybe

They fist bump and Taylor follows Owen to the door

Shaun: A few days ok?

Taylor: It’s alright Shaun, Owen and I are in a better place right now. I want to be a good Mum to him… I’m going to be a good Mum.

Shaun: I know… and I’m glad.

The pair hug, and after they part, Taylor waits in the doorway, waving as Shaun exits the drive. Taylor checks in on Sebastian who is still soundly asleep, before heading back into the kitchen where Owen is still sat.

Taylor: You wanna hear something funny Owen?

Owen nods, he had been pretty short on laughs recently.

Taylor: That Battle Royal thing in EMERGE… I’m going to compete

Owen: Really?

Owen seems genuinely surprised by that fact.

Taylor: True story

She grins at him.

Owen: Why?

Taylor: I’ve done a lot of things I’m not proud of in my life. To your Dad, to Shaun… even to you. I don’t want Sebastian to think of me like that when he grows up, I want you both to speak to people and be proud that I’m his Mother, not ashamed.

Owen: I’m not ashamed of you Mum

Taylor: No, because you’re a good kid, but you should be, because I’ve been a right bitch. But I’m going to be better, starting in this Battle Royal. After that… who knows?

Owen: Well, I’m glad. It’s good to be home Mum

Taylor: I’m glad you’re here kid. I just wish I’d have sorted Finn Cruze out when I knew what a bastard he was.

Owen: Guess Dad and Grandad were right all along huh?

Taylor: Definitely

She leans forwards and kisses him on the cheek, the doorbell ringing.

Taylor: Now, I wonder who that could be.

She looks at him and smiles

Owen: Mom?

Taylor: A little surprise for you… go see.

Owen gets to his feet and heads to the door, opening it and standing wide-eyed

Owen: MOM!!!

He throws his hands around Kloe, who holds him tight, tighter than ever before.

Kloe: Oh Owen, I can’t believe you’ve been through this.

Owen holds her hand, and brings her into the house, looking at Taylor who has just joined them. Taylor and Kloe then share a hug, Owen scowling, confused as to what is going on. Owen puffs out his cheeks, Taylor explaining.

Taylor: I contacted Kloe Owen.

Owen: But…

Taylor: Yes, the two of us have pretty much nearly killed each other over the years. But this isn’t about us, it’s about you. And a boy always needs his Mother right?

Kloe: You’re lucky enough that you have two.

Taylor: I called her, because you’re broken Owen. Understandably. Everyone needs to play a part

Kloe: Especially us.

Owen can’t really believe what he is seeing, but he was glad that he was.

Owen: This is mad… and anyway, what are you going to do, come to Breakdown’s with me?

Kloe: Come and sit down Owen

Kloe leads him into the living room, and sits him on the sofa, Taylor and Kloe sitting either side.

Owen: What’s going on?

Taylor: Dad has spoken to Sasha

Owen: Grandad? Why?

Taylor: He has negotiated an indefinite leave of absence, on full pay, until you can get your head straight. It’s not healthy for you, and it’s not healthy for the other members of the roster.

Owen: If I mess up you mean?

Taylor just nods

Kloe: It will do you good Owen.

Owen: And you both agree this is for the best?

Kloe: Yes, and Shaun as well. You’re not in the right state of mind to compete Owen. Who knows, maybe in a couple of months, after some therapy…?

Owen: Whoa… months? And therapy.

Taylor: We can only do so much Owen… we know a professional who will clear your head of these dreams you’ve been having.

Owen: But months… Mom, it’s Taking Hold of the Flame soon

Taylor: I know, but…

Owen: No, seriously, no shrinks… I know you both mean the best for me, Shaun as well, but I’m not missing Taking Hold of the Flame. I’ll take a couple of Breakdown’s off if that’s allowed to clear my head, but that’s it… I’m going to be in Montreal and with the greatest of respect for you both, you can’t stop me.

Kloe: Owen

Owen: No Mom, I’m serious. Two weeks and then I’m going back. I need my career right now, and I’m not letting that go down the toilet like everything else. Clear?

Kloe: Owen?

Owen: CLEAR!!!

Kloe nods, not wanting an argument with her son, Taylor not forcing the issue either. Owen is actually glad to hear Sebastian stirring, and he gets to his feet.

Owen: I’ll go

Without another word he makes his way out the room, closing the door behind him. Taylor turns to Kloe and can’t help but grin.

Kloe: What you smiling at?

Taylor: That’s quite a strong willed kid… any ideas who’s to blame for that?

Kloe for a moment stays straight faced, but then bursts out laughing.

Kloe: Guess that’s on me and you huh?

Taylor: I’d say so… red?

She lifts a bottle from the side of the sofa, and walks over to the bar, grabbing a couple of glasses as Kloe nods

Kloe: Why not?

As Taylor pours the wine, she knew that it would be way too soon for him to return, and this could have exactly the opposite effect to what Owen thought it would. She knew that if Owen classed himself fit, and passed the tests, Sasha would have no choice to include him, they just had to hope he didn’t. Because if he didn’t compete to the best of his abilities, and didn’t at least the performance from last year, she knew Owen would see that as another failure, another thing wrong with his life. And she knew from personal experience, when there is nothing good left, there is only one place left to turn. The ever inviting dark. And she couldn’t allow that to happen. Not ever.

30th May 2019 – Montreal

Owen had been true to his word, and he’d not competed on the last two Breakdowns, making it three in a row. He’d not even shown at the events, even when the announce team, and several of the roster had drawn their own conclusions. But also true to his word, with Taking Hold of the Flame imminent, he had made his way to Montreal and booked a meeting with Sasha to discuss his status. She of course had immediately asked for the relevant tests, which he had undertaken, and he was now sat in Sasha’s office, as she went over the results.

Sasha: Thank you Owen, I’m sure you understand we have to be very careful in these kinds of situations. What happened that night…

Sasha was one of the few who knew the whole truth, she had needed to be for Broderick to work his magic.

Sasha: It leaves a mark on a person, the last thing I need is you losing it on live television and hurting someone. There are enough of those around and I have to think what it could do to the brand.

Owen would need more than two hands to count the psychopaths that competed in SCW, but he bites his lip and doesn’t comment. Maybe later if he didn’t get the all clear. Sasha cared about people no doubt about it, but she also had to protect the SCW name.

Sasha: The medical staff tells me you were very cooperative with them. I appreciate that.

Owen: If I want to compete at Taking Hold of the Flame it had to be done

Sasha: That it did.

Owen shifts in his seat, suddenly feeling uncomfortable and apprehensive.

Sasha: So, looking at the psych tests, the team are happy to clear you for Taking Hold of the Flame…

Owen fist pumps, finally a bit of good news.

Owen: Yes, I won’t let you down Sasha I promise.

Sasha: I hope not Owen, but I want to make something crystal clear to you.

Owen: OK

Sasha: If we see any signs that this is affecting you, I promise I will pull you from television immediately. The stuff you do, the high risk offence… the last thing I need is you landing on your head and paralyzing yourself because you shouldn’t have even been in the ring.

Owen: Hey, we Cruze’s have got hard heads haven’t you heard?

His joke unfortunately isn’t taken as such from Sasha.

Owen: Sorry, it won’t. I just want to get back to work. I need this.

Sasha nods her head. She understood the logic, wrestling was all Owen wanted to do.

Sasha: Don’t make me regret this.

Owen: You won’t Sasha, you have my word.

Sasha nods, and the conversation turns away from Owen, but never strays far away from the sport. He may have only been young, but Sasha was amazed how knowledgeable Owen was, but more than anything how level headed he remained. She didn’t know what would happen night, all she did know was that this young man needed an opportunity, and also a distraction from everything that his life was throwing at him right now. Taking Hold of the Flame could be that distraction… but only if it went well.

Diary Entry – 3rd of June 2019

Been a while since I’ve written in here. A LOT has happened.

Feel weird writing it down, but Uncle Finn killed himself, and I saw it all. That remains with me, I dunno, maybe it always will. All of it to make me suffer…

Yeah diary, I’m suffering alright. Every time I close my eyes, the grin on his face on his face as he pulled the trigger. His final words, the final image like something out of a horror movie.

But least I didn’t OK at Taking Hold of the Flame right? Nearly an hour again and the most eliminations… I should be so proud

But I’m not.

I’m trying to be…

Seriously, I’m trying to put on the brave face and be the company guy. I’m telling everyone I see that I’m going to be OK.

But I’m not OK. I’m far from OK. I may not be ‘OK’ again.

I told the world I wouldn’t be afraid ever again. I told those fans, those adorable fans who remain by my side that there was nothing to worry about. Owen Cruze is back and back for good.

But Diary, I’m not just afraid. I’m fucking petrified.

Because I have no clue where this goes next.

16th June 2019 – Los Angeles

There wasn’t a day that went by where Owen didn’t think about his Father. He missed him every single day. But some days were worse than others, namely his Dad’s birthday, Christmas and of course Father’s Day, which it was today. Social Media had been awash with messages, people thanking their Dad’s, and visiting them with gifts. Owen couldn’t do that… all he could do was share the day with Sebastian, who would never get the chance to even know him. Owen had tried to stay away from social media, but not for that reason. He’d grown tired of the incessant backbiting and bitching at each other that had become commonplace on there. A lot of these people were his friends, and yet when arguments were now being based on someone specifying a single color it was time to draw a line, as it and all become more than a little pointless.

Taylor: Penny for them Owen?

Owen looks over at Sebastian who was playing with his mobile.

Owen: Just thinking about Dad…

Taylor smiles, knowing that was the case. She picks Sebastian up and sits with him on her knee.

Taylor: You can talk to me you know… I know it’s been a pretty shitty time for you what with Finn and Kels… and now Ricky.

Owen: That’s the thing, I reckon if I start talking about it, I’ll never stop.

Taylor: And that’s a bad thing?

Owen: For my own sanity, yeah.

Taylor: So you’re going to just power through huh?

Owen: All I can do really

Taylor: There are people Owen, trained to deal with things like this.

Owen: I don’t need a Psychiatrist Mom.

Taylor laughs, surprising Owen

Owen: What’s funny?

Taylor: You… you sound more like Orlando every single day. He would have said the same, too proud to get help. But it’s OK to say you’re not coping Owen…

Owen: It’s OK to not be OK right?

Taylor: Well, yeah.

Owen: Well, I AM OK Mom, all I need is to get back to work, because I reckon right now it needs me more than ever.

Taylor: No disrespect Owen… but it’s going to need more than you to fix that place.

Owen: Doesn’t mean to say I can’t try right? Peyton’s doing it right, and so can I. Let them have their stupid little squabbles… there’s some pretty shit things going on in the world right now, and all these people are doing is thinking about their own problems.

Taylor: What do you mean?

Owen: Ricky’s missing, Kelcey is in a coma… these are things that REALLY matter Mom. And it’s about time someone reminded these people of that.

Taylor: These ‘people’ are your friends Owen

Owen: Yeah, they are… and maybe it’s about time they started acting like it. Or perhaps Giovanni was right all along.

Owen gets to his feet, Taylor opening her mouth to say something but not getting the chance.

Owen: I gotta get ready, Daisy will be here soon. I trust you’re gonna play nice?

Taylor just nods, watching as Owen leaves the room. There was a lot of frustration building in Owen and she could see it. Sooner or later, he was going to boil over, and someone was going to bear the brunt of that, but maybe it was a lesson that was needed. Right now, Taylor needed Orlando just as much as Owen did, because Orlando would have known what to do. And although she had her doubts, maybe Daisy could get through to him where others could not. She certainly hoped so.

30 MINUTES LATER

Daisy sits in the kitchen area, holding the drink that Owen had made for her. Taylor had made herself scarce, not wanting the meeting to be any more awkward, considering the last time her and Daisy had spoken. Once Owen has fixed his own drink, he sits at the Breakfast bar on the opposite side.

Daisy: Thank you for seeing me Owen… I know you’re angry with me right now.

Owen: I try not to do anger… let’s call it disappointment.

Daisy nods her head

Daisy: That’s fair.

Owen: You said you’d be there for me Daisy, and yet you’ve ignored me on social media, not answered my calls. I thought I’d done something wrong.

Daisy: You didn’t Owen… and I wish I could explain why, but I can’t.

Owen: Figures

Daisy: Owen believe me, if there could have been any other way, but I had no choice. I know I promised your Dad that I’d look out for you, and I know that you could have really done with someone lately, what with your Uncle…

Owen: That’s an understatement.

Daisy: I’m sorry Owen… I’m sorry for letting Orlando down, and I’m sorry for letting you down. But I’m back now and I promise I will NEVER let you down again.

Owen: And what if I don’t need you Daisy?

Daisy pauses for a moment, biting her bottom lip. It was a question that she hadn’t expected, and certainly wasn’t ready for.

Daisy: Then I’ll go, if that’s really what you want.

Owen sighs, lowering his head

Owen: It’s not what I want.

Daisy holds out her hand and takes Owen’s in hers.

Daisy: I’m here now Owen, and I’m not going anywhere. I promise.

Owen had always had a ‘thing’ for Daisy, call it an infatuation. But there was nothing sinister in their relationship, and in this moment Owen saw Daisy as nothing more than a Sister, someone who he needed in his life, similar to a Guardian Angel.

Daisy: So what’s going on in that pretty head of yours?

Owen: What do you mean?

Daisy: That comment, having a go at your friends. It didn’t sound like you.

Owen: I’m just so fed up with it all Daisy. It’s just so pointless. Kelcey is laying in a coma, who knows when she is going to wake up. Ricky has gone missing and no one has a clue where he is. And what’s Selena doing? Arguing the fact Giovanni used a single color. Yeah she was probably joking but it’s stupid.

Daisy: So what would you want her to do? Giovanni has been a constant thorn in her side.

Owen: Kick his ass… in the ring. The way it’s supposed to be

Daisy: Yeah you’re right, but what’s the first thing you did. You commented on social media, in a thinly veiled dig of your own. A little hypocritical don’t you think?

Owen: I didn’t think of it that way…

Daisy: You know me, I ain’t going to sugar coat it. If you’re going to be the morality police going forwards, you can’t bitch about people and then do exactly the same.

Owen: So what do I do?

Daisy: There’s always more than one way of getting your point across Owen. These are your friends. Regan, Kennedy, and Selena… from where I’m standing they respect you, and having the respect of Regan Street is no mean feat.

Owen chuckles

Daisy:  You ask to speak to them, I reckon they’ll listen, then it’s up to them. Honestly though Owen, you give people a medium like that to get their point across, you’ll always have people that will use it. You don’t have to follow them right?

Owen: I guess not.

Daisy: So if it annoys you that much… don’t. Problem solved.

She was right of course, social media was a nightmare, but it was a nightmare that Owen chose to be a part of every single time he logged on. He’d lost focus on that, and he was glad he’d been reminded he had a choice.

Owen: Thanks Daisy

Daisy: My pleasure babe… just do Daisy one favor huh?

Owen: Sure

Daisy: Just remember that your nineteen years old, and start having some fun. Don’t let this business get your down, when you’ve said yourself, there are things going on a lot more important. Wrestling is a job, something your good at. It’s doesn’t have to be any more than that ok?

Owen: OK

Daisy: Real life will kick you enough… wrestling should be your escape, not a chore.

Owen nods, he understood that line more than any other. He needed to be booked, and have an opponent to focus on, rather than getting lost in his own head. Wrestling was his pressure release, and only in the ring did his real life problems fade away to almost nothing.

Owen: Thanks Daisy… I’m glad your back

Daisy: I’m glad to be back Sugar. I got you OK?

Owen: OK

From there, the conversation changes. To Jaina, his relationship with Taylor, and throughout it all Daisy listens intently, interested in every word. Owen would perhaps never know why Daisy had to disapeer, but right now he didn’t care. All he was concerned about was that she was back, and her being back made him feel stronger. And strength was what he would need in the coming months, because although he didn’t know it right now, perhaps the worst time of his life was still to come.

24th June 2019 – Los Angeles
/RECORDING

“You know, sometimes, being ‘grown up’ is pretty shit. As a kid, you think you’ve got it pretty hard when your Mom takes away your IPad or your phone, or grounds you for a few weeks. But the thing is, as a kid, you don’t have the first clue about life, and how over the course of your time on this Earth, at some point, your existence is going to come along and give you the biggest kick in the balls you can imagine. And it’s going to hurt… it’s going to hurt like crazy, and there’s going to be times when you feel like you’re just not going to get through it.”

Owen looks directly down the camera lens, once again finding it awkward doing this at such a difficult time for him.

“For me, this is one of those times.”

He brings his hand up and rubs his eyes, puffing out his cheeks.

“Don’t worry, this isn’t going to be some kind of ‘pity party’, shit happens, and I get that truly I do. But it gets to a point when you wonder when it’s going to end you know?”

He shrugs his shoulder, biting on his thumb nail as he speaks

“But, that’s what existing is, isn’t it? It’s ploughing through all the crap, and the bad times and keeping going no matter what, until you reach one of those golden moments that make it all worthwhile. The love of your life, a new baby brother, just that memory that you will take with you, and that will energize you to take on the next challenge. I need one of those moments’ guys, I need to be energized… because right now. Truthfully… life sucks…”

He pauses, tilting his head to one side.

“But as I keep telling myself, at least I’m still here.”

As of this moment, the world was still unaware of the trauma Owen had been through, and to them this would seem like it was only Kelcey and Ricky he was reacting to. The whole story would have been a lot more telling, but that was a tale Owen was nowhere near ready to share, and perhaps never would. To those that knew him, like Amy who had voiced her concern for him on social media, they were more than aware how much he was struggling.

“And I know how lucky I am, truly I do. I know the sacrifices people have made to put me here with all these amazing opportunities that I receive. But when you listen to the news, and you see that one of your best friends has died it’s bad enough, but for ‘foul play’ to be suspected… and for someone to have perhaps done something like that to one of the most honest, genuine guys in the business, it makes you realize a few things. That being there’s a LOT of bad people in this world, and they just keep getting away with it, over and over again. So what’s the point… seriously, what’s the point of maintaining the moral high ground, of trying to be a good person… if all that means, is it’s all going to end at the bottom of a ravine? If the cops are right, and someone really did this to Ricky, then I in all honestly hope they burn in hell for what they have done. And you know what… I hate that person, those people, with every inch of my being, not just for what they have done, but also for making me feel the way I do right now.”

He looks away for just a second, and mutters a single word, almost inaudible

“Lost.”

His eyes start to glisten, and he quickly wipes them with the back of his hand. His Father had always taught him to look for the good in everyone, but how could he when there were people walking the world that would do something like this? Of course it wasn’t all about Ricky, though that was the most raw. Finn had killed himself for no other reason but to hurt Owen, his final act one of pure spite, the Mother of all last words. Kelcey even now was being disrespected each week by Chris and Sienna flaunting their ‘love’ for each other no matter how much they covered it up with their ‘humanitarian acts’. Good people being victimized by bad, like it always was, but with nothing to do with the wrestling sideshow. This wasn’t something he had trained for at Ante up, or prepared for with his Father. These emotion were all new to him and he was struggling to cope. Turning his eyes back to the camera he continues.

“And through all of this, we are supposed to carry on. To turn up for work, and compete to the best of our abilities, and to fight the good fight no matter the cost. Peyton will carry on, not wanting to let people down and those that loved Ricky will honor him by doing all that they can to ensure his name is never forgotten. But what if I don’t want to huh? What if, I decide that, you know what, it’s not worth it? What if I said enough of the giving, it’s time to start taking, and decided to be like every other prick on this planet…”

He sighs, and we see just the slightest glimmer of a smile

“Then guys, I’d be like every other asshole in this business that ‘uses’ this industry for what it can give them, but doesn’t breathe it in like I do, like I was BORN to do. Of course, it’s worth it, it will ALWAYS be worth it, and I’ll be damned if this is going to change who I am. Kelcey is a fighter, so I’ll keep fighting. Ricky would have told me to pick myself up and take it to the man, so that’s exactly what I am going to do. I’ll keep living… I’ll keep BREATHING because of WHO I am.”

He nods his head defiantly.

“I will not be broken.”

He takes a moment and lowers his gaze to the floor, breathing heavily to slow his adrenaline. When he is ready he brings his eyes back to the camera, his demeanor now a lot more composed and he continues.

“Alistaire Allocco…”

He lets out a long sigh

“First of all, I want to apologise to you personally. We were due to face off over a month ago in Minneapolis, and I’ve no doubt it was frustrating having the match cancelled a few moments before the bell was due to sound. I know how much preparation someone as talented as you puts into a match, and so therefore, all I can do is say sorry, and assure you that if I could have been there, I would have. After the event when I watched the show back, I heard some of the comments that came from your Fathers mouth, getting it badly wrong like he tends to nowadays, and I hope you didn’t take his words on board. I just wanted to begin by apologizing to you, as I did the fans, because you all deserved better, regardless of the situation.”

It didn’t matter to Owen that he had basically been forced into taking three weeks off, to ensure he would be able to compete at Taking Hold of the Flame. His lack of appearance was still his cross to bear.

“And that said, secondly, I wanted to congratulate you now I have the opportunity and your attention. For doing what thirty-nine others couldn’t and winning Taking Hold of the Flame, and in doing so joining that illustrious list I spoke about before. A former World Champion and now one of only a small percentage who can claim to have won the hardest Battle Royal in our industry. If it wasn’t clear before, it is now bro. You’re a million miles from the guy who followed Ace Marshall around like a lost puppy, and you should be proud of that fact.

There’s little doubt, you go into Rise to Greatness with a lot of confidence, knowing that you have grown so much in the last twelve months. But the thing is bro, I’ve grown as well, and that has probably been accelerated over the past few weeks. It’s no surprise that my life has been a crap storm, I’ve been through the mill, no doubts about it. But I’m still standing, and even after the barbs from Sienna and Chris, I’m still more than willing to back up anything I’ve said. I accept, my timing was off, my emotions got the better of me, and to those that matter I apologise for that. But I’m not going to apologise for the facts of the matter, that being that the two of them disrespect Kelcey every time they step foot in a SCW arena, no matter how much money they throw at her care.

See, I don’t care if Chris is a good Father, he loves Christian and Nathaniel… I should think so that’s the very least he should do. But does that really give him a free pass when he comes on television and flaunts this ‘love’ all over our screens, cutting promos in front of his WIFE? What’s that got to do with you? Good question… because in the grand scheme of things it probably doesn’t. But what I’m trying to say is I’m not going to shy away from what’s wrong, just because I’m only nineteen years old. I’m not going to buy into their ridiculous claims I need therapy, because crap spews from their mouths like sewage. In short, it’s time for me to stop playing at this, and start being an adult.

Because I don’t need therapy, it’s pretty simple Alistaire, I, like most people my age could do with my Dad being around, guiding me through this minefield called life. Your Father might have thrown some mud at me in an attempt to make it stick, he may have accused me of some pretty sick things, but that doesn’t change the fact he’s your Dad bro, warts and all. He might be a bit of an idiot, but he’s your idiot Alistaire, and at least yours is still around. Remember that, because he won’t always be, and you’ll regret it when he’s gone.”

He continues quickly, not wanting to dwell and get back to where he was at the beginning of the promo.

“But anyway, enough of the family guidance, look how easy it was to get Chris and Sienna defending each other like children, and look how quickly they turned what has happened in my life recently against me, good people my backside. The difference in me now, from when we faced off last time Alistaire is I’m a far different person and I don’t buy into their crap. They couldn’t understand that all I was doing was playing the game, being the trolls that they are 24/7, simply because I can. I don’t have to stand back and simply listen, I can say my piece just like they can. I may not have been here years Alistair, but I’ve certainly paid my dues in the eighteen months I have.

And that’s why I believe this time will be different, and that I can beat you. I’m stronger, faster, and more resilient. Yeah, you won the Battle Royal so you’re resilient too, but I entered earlier, and lasted longer, for the second year in succession. But, you’re the number one contender bro, and I respect that, more than you’ll probably ever know. They mock me, just like you may do, who knows? But they do it because for all the ‘humanitarian” acts they conduct, or ‘good’ deeds, they will never have the respect I have right now from this business.

And I’m not talking about inside a ring, I’m talking as people, as individuals. They will never be cheered like I am, YOU may never be cheered like I am, and I’ve earned that. And no matter what they say, no matter what your Dad says, I hope you realize bro, and you’re going to have to give EVERYTHING to beat me on Wednesday. Every ounce of effort will be required just like it was at Taking Hold of the Flame, because that spot you hold right now, I want it. I want it because I’m learning that those titles are far from just trinkets, they give you the opportunity to make that difference. And beating you fairly, without any outside interference… the man who will challenge and maybe defeat Syren on the biggest show of them all… would be a start.”

Owen pauses, and it’s very clear where his head is right now. He isn’t downtrodden, or feeling sorry for himself. He’s fighting for what he believes in…what is right.

“It’s about time people like you woke up, and started being like Peyton and anyone else who gives a crap about this business, and worked to take charge of this company. And made it what it should be, about competition and to hell with the rest. They can call me naïve if they want, they can say it’s always been this way, it won’t ever change. But Alistaire, WE can make a difference on Wednesday night. We can show the world what true competition is, without the mind games, and without the posturing. We can only be kept down if we let them.

I’m taking a stand, just like my Father would have wanted, knowing that he’s proud of me, no matter what some egotistical assholes might say to get a rise. I ask you to join me Alistaire, and all the others who have quite simply had enough of ‘Champions’ stealing anything they ever earned and passing it off as success and who have had enough of good people, being shit on just because the likes of Sienna, Chris and Syren have more money, or more clout. People are getting sick of it, and I ain’t staying quiet anymore just because they tell me too, or because I’m a ‘kid’. Life’s too short Alistaire to hold back, because the most important lesson I’ve learned of late is how quickly it can all be taken away. Born to do, and live in the moment, that’s the new mantra, one I will shout from the rooftops for everyone like me to hear…”

He nods his head.

“…And I’ll be damned if I let them silence me.”

He salutes the camera, as the scene fades.

Leave a comment